Back to newsroom

Energy Public Bill Committee announced



The Energy Public Bill Committee membership has been confirmed this morning:


Members are: Peter Aldous, Gregory Barker, Luciana Berger, Mr Robert Buckland, Dan Byles, Julie Elliott, Barry Gardiner, Stephen Gilbert, Tom Greatrex, Mr John Hayes, Gordon Henderson, Joseph Johnson, Graham Jones, Ian Lavery, Dr Phillip Lee, Albert Owen, Laura Sandys, Sir Robert Smith, Mel Stride, Mr Mike Weir and Dr Alan Whitehead.


The Committee will begin taking evidence on Tuesday 15th January and Thursday 17th:


Tuesday 15th January


Energy Bill Committee (8.55am & 2.00pm) 

Energy Bill

Witnesses: am) Department of Energy and Climate Change, Ministry of Defence, National Grid, Scottish Power, Centrica, E.ON UK, and Office of Gas and Electricity Markets, pm) Confederation of British Industry, Low Carbon Finance Group, Renewable Energy Systems, DONG Energy, Ecotricity, Cornwall Energy Associates Ltd, Professor Catherine Mitchell, University of Exeter, Professor Dieter Helm CBE, University of Oxford, Vestas Wind Systems, and SSE


Thursday 17th January


Energy Bill Committee (11.30am & 2.00pm)

Energy Bill
Witnesses: am) Committee on Climate Change, Greenpeace, and Friends of the Earth, pm) Safety Directors’ Forum, EDF Energy Nuclear Generation, Carbon Capture and Storage Association, Consumer Focus, Institute for Public Policy Research, Which?, National Energy Action, GMB, Combined Heat and Power Association, Siemens, and E3G